That Nasty Beast

Control is an evil monster whose goal is to come into your life and tell you how to think, live and move. Control is the enemy, who has masked herself (#feminism) as your brain. Control is what makes us feel in charge of our own lives and makes us feel comfortable. But really…it is the cause of Stress and shows God that we do not trust him.

Lets flash back to the mind of Venesota a few weeks ago: (Cue flash back music) What will my next job look like? Well maybe if I get this job, I can move here. But from there, I would need to get this amount of money. And I need to leave the house at exactly 11:48, otherwise I’ll miss my train and lose my current job. Then on Saturday morning, I’m going to Target because I need to buy this present and if they don’t have it…. And oh my gosh, are you already exhausted from reading that? Because I’m exhausted trying to control everything in my life! What I’m getting at here is that I let this hideous beast come into my mind and try to take over, to control what was believed to be the best thing for me. And in actuality, what I was doing was telling God, “Oh, I got this. You can carry on with the other things you were doing. I know what my life should look like and better than you do.” Rough, huh?

Fast forward to this past week: I gave it all up to God. I thanked Him for loving me through my own stubbornness. I apologized for trying to control my destiny, I apologized for not being patient, I apologized for being imperfect and not coming to terms with it and I finally let go and gave it over to Him. And let me tell you…I feel 10 pounds lighter (not so much in the love handle area but in my anxiety level!)

The best things in life come when you let go. For instance, in the summer of 2015, I told God that I was giving up control of finding a partner or my “soulmate”. Months later, very unexpectedly, I met my husband. What can I say, we fell in love in a hopeless place. And now, after I gave up control of wondering what my next career move would be, He led me to a job in His line of work that had just opened up!

“Let go of your concerns! Then you will know that I am God. I rule the nations. I rule the earth.” Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

